Books et al's Blog

All about books, reviews, thoughts and more

Book review: Worms on Parachutes – mystical allies in my battle with cancer November 10, 2012

I have been meaning to blog for ages but life keeps getting in the way – work, part-time study, family commitments, travel and reading! My apologies readers – if I have any left!

In the end it took a very special book from a very special person to drive me to write again.

I love books and I am a huge reader, often reading more than one book at a time. Generally it’s fiction. I prefer the world of imagination  magic, discovery and wonder than the world of pampered celebrities or of real-life disturbing evil. As it’s my form of escapism from the stresses and strains of daily life, I never read what are condescendingly known as ‘Misery Memoirs’ either.

However when someone I knew, Sarah-Jane Phillips, offered me the chance to read the true story about her life and intimate struggle against her battle with two different types of cancer, in her youth and then as an adult, I was touched and resolved to read it immediately.

I was glad I did. Worms on Parachutes is a story of success and bravery through terrible adversity. Whilst it deals with struggles and familial issues as a result, during very scary and painful times, the reader is reminded throughout of the power of positive thinking.   I won’t lie, it’s a tear-jerker, but by the end you feel that even in reality, the good guys can and DO win. This is no spoiler, readers. I did say the author herself gave this to me to read. The story is not about the outcome, but about the experience Sarah went through, and how she has changed as a result.

It is an inspiring and moving personal journey fighting against a disease that sadly affects most of us, directly or indirectly.

Amazingly Sarah has written her story in order to raise money for the hospital team and the institution that got her through it all – the NHS. In Sarah’s opinion an undeservedly maligned healthcare system that we all depend upon.

Unfortunately you won’t be able to get this book in the stores yet. Sarah is still waiting on a publisher with vision and the understanding that many will want to read about the indomitable human spirit’s struggle against survival and what that teaches us. I am sure that it won’t be long before you see it on Amazon, Foyles and Waterstones. In the meantime you can hear more from Sarah-Jane Phillips herself on her Worms on Parachutes Facebook page.

I will let you know when this is available to purchase, and as always if you have been inspired by any personal memoirs or by people’s struggles, I would love to hear about them too.

 

Leave a Reply

