Books et al's Blog

All about books, reviews, thoughts and more

Bank holiday weekend August 27, 2010

My birthday falls on this bank holiday weekend so wisely, or not, my husband and I decided to go to the Brighton coast to celebrate. Well we are currently on the M25 in England and while it’s been a slow start – getting onto the motorway was a chore – things seem to be a little smoother now. I say this with caution as things can change at any moment.
Just in case, I have come prepared for a long journey – I have healthy snacks and bottles of water as well as an iPhone full of my favourite podcasts – astronomy cast and Prof Brian Cox’ CERN podcast – lots of music, plus TV series Wonders of the Solar System and my all time favourite movie Contact, should we be stuck for hours. I can’t read while in a car – I suffer from car sickness if I try so the iPhone has given me a fantastic solution to mundane hours spent in a car in a traffic jam. Luckily my husband doesn’t mind me putting on my podcasts through the car radio – occasionally!
I have also brought my writing notebook as my latest story is really starting to take shape. I just need to do a bit more research with regards to the universe, talk to a few experts and I should be well underway to creating an interesting new reality. Well, interesting to me anyway, which is all I aim for now! I am very excited about this storyline and my characters. I hope I do them justice.
Of course it goes without saying that I also have bought a new book to read. The first of the Maria V Snyder Opal Cowan ‘Glass’ series. I loved her Poison Study trilogy so I have great hopes for this next series.
My birthday weekend is shaping up to be the kind of celebration that only a geek like me could enjoy – lots of learning on my areas of passion, reading and writing with some wining and dining with Husband thrown in, and the obligatory trek to some historical buildings/ areas and walks along the coast and a spot of shopping. I am so excited. Here’s hoping the motorways behave!

 

Leave a Reply

