Books et al's Blog

All about books, reviews, thoughts and more

Book review: The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova April 21, 2010

The Historian

The Historian

I meant to read this book when it first came out. In fact every time I went into a bookstore I would pick it up but then put it back down again when I had to narrow down the amount of books I had in my arms.

It wasn’t until I found myself in a very rainy Spain, with a friend who had a copy with her, that I finally began to read The Historian. It wasn’t long before I realised what a fool I had been.

It has all the elements of a good read: troubled souls, mysterious pasts, good versus evil, a motherless girl in search of her father, a mystery that must be solved before its too late. The book travels backwards and forward in time, opening up the atmospheric European and Academic worlds it is set in, both past and present, in a slow yet captivating fashion, revealing something new in each chapter. I found myself rooting for the young girl who has lost her father, and for the father who has lost his way… To tell you more would kill it’s magic.

A remarkable book, definitely worth a read, and then another, and then another…

 

Leave a Reply

